I call this annoying collar flippage while trying to decide where to look and what to do with my hands.

The deets:

Pattern: Equestrian Blazer by Kate Gilbert, Interweave Knits Winter 2006

Yarn: the recommended Rowan Scottish Tweed in Claret (love that colour)

Needles: 4.0 mm I think but I’ve already forgotten. Whatever the pattern said to use.

Size: 40″

Started: September 15th, 2007

Finished: September 27th, 2007

On the pattern: I love short rows and the shaping was achieved using them so I was a happy camper. The collar and body edging kind of has a mind of it’s own, however. If I tug at the bottom to pull the back over my butt the collar rolls. The bottom right edge likes to flip inside out too. I should have added a couple extra edging rows I guess. I don’t think I did any modifications at all. It feels a bit weird to be wearing a jacket but have your belly exposed. For my size, it recommended 7 balls of Scottish Tweed, which I obediently bought at Romney Wool in Toronto, despite the fact that it was something like $20 a ball. Yikes! Turns out it only needed six with some of the sixth ball left over.

On the yarn: I love the colour and the tweediness of this yarn but I had two big miffs with it: 1) Lots of what do you call it, roughage? Little bits of twigs and what looked like shells of tiny dead worms. 2) It broke if you looked at it funny. Which made an already lengthy finished process pretty frustrating. It must have broke about a dozen times when I was tugging at the woven stitches during seaming. I painted the air a violent shade of blue, let me tell you.

Overall it knit up quickly and I think I will wear this lots and lots.

Interlude: Can I just take a minute to say how much I absolutely love the Winter 2006 Interweave? I’ve already made two projects from it, both Kate Gilbert’s (A Cardigan for Arwen and this one) and I plan on casting on for the Enid Cardigan soon. Every time I flip through it I find another pattern I want to make. I remember buying it at Kaleidescope yarns in Vermont on the knitting road trip Nat, Melina and I took last November and pouring over it when I got back to the hotel, completely enthralled by all the beautiful and wearable patterns. I hope the Winter 2007 Interweave is half as enjoyable.

Next up: I’ve cast on for the Shetland Shawl Turned Vest.

