I took my time with the finishing, weathered a panicky moment (straps are six inches too short – blocked like a mofo) and now I am so pleased.

Please disregard the headlights above.  It’s bright outside.

I am also happy to know that this will still fit me in the not-inconceivable event that I gain three hundred pounds (it is mad stretchy yo!).

Pattern:  Shetland Shawl Turned Vest by Veronik Avery from Lace Style

Yarn: Elann Peruvian Alpaca Fina in Charcoal – just barely over four balls and a tiny bit of the same yarn in Mauve – less than $20!

Notions: Two buttons from Fabricland

Size: 39 3/4″

Modifications: I didn’t do the silver and teal accent colours on the bottom because I thought it looked a bit too sporty. I didn’t have a 3.25mm circ so I used some 3 mm straights and dpns.  What a pain when I had to do the 360 stitch edging!

Time: September 28th (I think) to October 22nd

Needles: 3.5 and 3.0 mm straights and DPNs.

I wish I could wear it right next to the skin because this yarn is so soft.  Maybe I will just around the apartment.  Or out if I’m feeling saucy.

I’m really tempted to cast on for the Tangled Yoke Cardigan right away but I think I might wait a bit and try to redo the edging on the Equestrian Blazer.  We’ll see.

While I waited for Shetland to dry this weekend I made the agonizing decision to frog my Pomatamuses.

Once I got to the foot and saw how nice the Lorna’s Laces looked in the plain stockinette, the pooling started to bother me.  Plus I was worried I wouldn’t have enough yarn to finish and would have to rip back later.  Surprisingly, once it was frogged, I wasn’t remorseful at all.

Yesterday I started a pair of Jaywalkers for my mom for Christmas and I’m already to turn the heel.  Hopefully she’s not reading this.

This is some Schoeller and Stahl Sockina Colori that I bought back in December with the remnants of a Christmas gift card for Wool ‘N Things.  I really wanted to knit from my stash for Christmas gifts to save money but I find it really hard to part with my yarn, because I’m selfish.  But looking at the Colori on Ravelry I realized it was a little too busy for me so I’m quite pleased with my decision.

Melina also made my Christmas stash knitting easier with her gifts from Ireland.

This is some Kilcarra Aran Tweed which may become some Fetching for my sister.

And this is some mysterious tweed which I think would be lovely as the Koolhaas hat.

Thanks again Melina!

We had friends over to dinner on Saturday and I decided to make an Autumn themed meal.  I made my favourite squash soup (if you make this make sure not to add so much cream cheese),  some hearty raisin and walnut bread which was similar to some I used to buy at my local bakery in Japan

and some Apple Pie from The New Vegetarian Epicure.

I hate to toot my own horn, but Michelle said it was the best apple pie she’d ever had. I’ll give most of the credit to Anna Thomas.

All of this to say that it was such a lovely weekend filled with friends, cooking knitting and relaxing, complete with watching Mannequin on t.v.  We need more movies where Andrew McCarthy plays the sensitive heartthrob and James Spader is the evil yuppie.

