I spent the better part of Saturday afternoon making samosas and naan.

I started making them by hand in Japan because the town we lived in didn’t have an Indian restaurant and you certainly couldn’t pick up prepared samosas at the deli counter. I used this naan recipe and here is my samosa recipe:

Samosas

Dough:
1 cup flour
1 1/2 tblsp. margarine
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 cup water

Filling:
2 potatoes
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/4 onion
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 bay leaf, crushed
2 large onions, finely chopped
4 cloves garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger root
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1 quart vegetable oil

1. Mix flour, salt and margarine with a fork until it resembles crumbs. Add the water and stir until it makes a ball of dough. Knead it on a floured surface until it is smooth. Cover it with a towel and put it aside.
2. Peel and cube the potatoes. Boil them with the peas until they are tender.
3. Meanwhile, heat the 2 tbsp. vegetable oil. Add onion and saute. Add the spices.
4. Mash the potatoes and peas and add them to the onion and spice mixture.
5. Divide the dough into 7 balls. Roll into 8 inch circles. Cut the circles in half. Wet the edges, add some filling, fold the dough in half and pinch the edges.
6. Heat the quart of vegetable oil in a deep pan. Add the samosas and fry until they’re golden brown.

Being more health conscious as of late I brushed them with olive oil and baked them this time but they’re still very tasty.

Sunday I started working on Tangled Yoke as soon as I woke up. I thought the eighteen rows of the cable chart would be an easy task for the day but three movies and a Justin Timberlake concert (shut up) on the Movie Network free preview weekend later I managed to finish only six rows (edit: make that five. I just had to frog rows six and seven. Frogging four hundred stitches is not fun.  Urge to kill rising, rising).

I ripped out rows one and three multiple times because I’m an idiot and started reading the chart wrong more than once. I was just a touch frustrated. I am getting to that point where I’m itching to finish so I can move on to the next thing, which should be Christmas presents, but will probably be another sweater for me.

I’m pretty certain that the sketch I most admired in Véronik’s office was Oblique which is already in everyone’s Ravelry queue. By the way, when you google “oblique” the pattern is the third result. Sing it with me now: Knitters are doing it for themselves.

Somehow, a gentleman from Fluevog found my last post and asked it he could post my brownie pictures to their site! You can see them (again) here.

