Elann is introducing more new yarns and one of them is the same composition and weight as the pricey (this side of the pond at least) Rowan Kidsilk Haze.

It’s available today so go score yourself some before it’s all scooped up!

The frigid weekend weather really impressed upon me how badly I need to make myself a hat that protects my ears from whipping sub-zero winds. I’ve had some Cascade Magnum earmarked for the Elf Hat from Handknit Holidays (sorry – can’t find a picture anywhere!) in my stash for a while. Of course, I didn’t have any sixteen inch, ten millimetre circulars or dpns lying around so I had to order those. Most expensive hat ever. I decided to try to cut costs by getting the needles on Ebay. I ordered some Brittany Birch DPNs, which were a good price for Brittanys, but not so good considering I will probably never use them again. For the circs, I found a listing for fifteen sets of Mei Mei Pro sixteen inch circs for ten bucks. I’ve never heard of Mei Mei Pro before but funnily enough it seems to be a lady in town who sells them from her home.

The pictures in the listing are clear, though, and the joins seem smoother than Clover and SRK bamboo circs, which I can’t stand. I will let you know how they work out. Soon, I suspect, because I just frogged my Manos earflap hat and my Apres Ski Kerchief because they were too large and therefore ineffective. Sadly, I was unable to properly frog the kerchief and the wool / acrylic blend, yet soft and cushy, Japanese yarn I used ended up in many pieces and finally in the trash. Oh well, it’s not like I have a need for any more lone skeins of yarn in my stash.

