We got thirty six centimetres of snow here yesterday. We just sat here and watched, fascinated, as parked cars disappeared and people were encased in snow drifts. Almost all of that is true.

Luckily it was cold but clear on Saturday for our semi-annual Meximas party. We were so busy with food preparation and being dazzling hosts that we failed to take any pictures during the party, but I did remember to take a picture of half of our contribution beforehand.

I made Chow Mein Crunchies and Snowballs. The Snowballs were a little fussy but delicious. Chow Mein Crunchies are super easy and sooo good.

Chow Mein Crunchies

-equal amounts of milk chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, peanuts and chow mein noodles

Melt the chips in a double boiler, of if you don’t have one put chips in a small pot and insert said pot into a larger pot of boiling water, or if you’re really hard up for kitchenware, melt in the microwave in a glass bowl. Stir in chow mein noodles and peanuts and drop onto cookie sheets covered with parchment paper. Chill in the fridge, freezer or your garage.

Can you spot my solution for not having an old lady tiered cookie tray? I placed an upturned glass on a large plate and put a smaller plate on top. Classy.

Chris also made up some punch to be enjoyed by all. Because we’re lazy resourceful (I wonder who the first blogger was to do the little strike-through gag?) our Meximas is always potluck so if any of our guests wish to share the Mexican recipes they contributed, please feel free in the comments!

I’m also able to reveal one of my top secret holiday knitting projects since they were gifted to our guests.

Korknisser! These got a little tedious after one or two (I made seven) and as a very infrequent wine drinker I had a lot of difficulty amassing the corks. Fortunately my parents had about seven hundred. I would recommend buying some at a wine supply store as they won’t be printed on or cracked.

I’m a hair breadth’s away from being finished Ultracranberry but I’m very, very concerned that I will run out of yarn for the first time ever on a knitting project. I got the Rowan Pure Wool DK from Elann and they no longer have any so wish me all kinds of luck if you please.

