I don’t even know where to start updating. The last week has been a flurry of activity, craft related and otherwise. I think I’ll have to parcel things out in little bits so as to not overwhelm myself.

I can finally reveal all of the secret Christmas crafting projects.

For Erin there was this busy little clutch using fabric gifted from Michelle and a pattern from Amy Butler’s In Stitches. It’s not quite as brain-searing in real life but the flower does get obscured by the fun print.

Chris has wimpy ears that smart with the slightest cold so while he was at volleyball I started planning the Warmest Hat Ever.

I knew I wanted it to be stranded and quadruple thickness around the ears. Executing this was a bit tricky but in general it all worked out. I started writing up a pattern but kind of dropped the ball. For what it’s worth:

Cold Ears Warm Heart Hat

Yarn: Cascade 220, 1 skein Colour # 8393, 1 skein colour # 8400

Needles: size 4 mm, 16” circular needles and 4 mm DPNs

Using Cable cast on, CO 96 stitches
Work in corrugated rib until rib measures 2”. Now, turn hat inside out so the side with the floats is facing you. Slip the first stitch on the left needle (the stitch with the active yarn) to the right needle, P1, K2, P2 to end of round. Continue in rib for 2 more inches.


From this point on I opened up Alice Starmore’s Fair Isle Knitting book, picked some patterns and knit until I got a good height. At the crown I knit two together every eight stitches then every seven, etc.
It was only later that I realized I had unwittingly chosen the same main motif as Magknit’s Fake Isle Hat. He likes it in all it’s boring boy colour glory.

And finally a belated gift for me.

Nutkins and some new wire sock blockers out of old hangers! I really enjoyed this pattern. The heel and toe shaping was all new to me and so fun. No picking up and knitting! Love that! I could have made the leg a little longer but the pattern calls for Wollmeise which has a more generous yardage than my Paca Peds so I was (unnecessarily) cautious. Plus with the hemmed cuff not being so stretchy I didn’t want to go too far up my calves.

Happy New Year everyone! Coming tomorrow: crafty resolutions and incoming knifty giftees.

