While stalling on buying new needles for Wicked I made another hat.

Pattern: Koolhaas by Jared Flood from Interweave Holiday Gifts

Yarn: Some mystery tweed that Melina brought back from Ireland

This is also a gift but I’m worried it will be a bit big for the small-headed recipient.  I have no idea why.  I was initially worried that this would be too small because the yarn appeared to be lighter than Aran weight.  In the end I had to omit an entire pattern repeat or this would have been too long.  It’s a mystery.

What a great pattern though.  If only it came with the stunning Brooklyn Tweed photography.  At least foam head likes to model.  I was seriously tempted to paint a Bowie lightening stripe across her face yesterday to jazz her up a bit but it may turn off some of my Etsy customers.  But then again, do I want to take money from those who do not love my Bowie?

EDIT TO ADD: I’ve been getting a lot of requests lately to share the Koolhaas pattern or to direct people to where they can get it.  It is copyright infringement for me to share the pattern and I’m not sure where else you can get it other than finding a back copy of the Interweave Holiday Gifts 2007 magazine.

Just before finishing Koolhaas up I made some soup for dinner from a cookbook which shall go unnamed because it sucked.  Not wanting to chuck about eight servings of leftovers I added some ingredients and made it a whole lot tastier.

White Bean Soup

  • 2 cups great northern beans – soaked, rinsed and drained
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 piece kombu
  • 1 celery stalk – halved
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 onions – thinly sliced
  • 8 cloves garlic – whole
  • 1 tbsp. fresh rosemary – chopped
  • dash + 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. temari (light soy sauce)
  • 1 tsp. white pepper
  • dash cayenne
  • 1/2 tbsp. white wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1/2 cup grated romano cheese

Cover beans in water and bring to a boil. Add kombu, celery and bay leaf. Simmer over low heat for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a skillet. Add onion, whole garlic, rosemary and dash of salt. Coat vegetables in oil and simmer for 30 minutes over low heat.

Add onion mixture to beans and simmer for thirty to fourty-five minutes, until beans are soft. Blend soup with an immersion stick blender until smooth. Add remaining ingredients. Taste for seasoning. Serve hot.

I love having soup with a really hearty bread and this one is my current favourite. Nummy.

