Today I learned how difficult it is to get decent pictures at 7:30 am on an overcast day but I know you’ve all been dying to see my bloated, just-woke-up face so I persevered. 

 

Pattern: Enid Cardigan – Interweave Knits Winter 2006

Yarn: Elann Peruvian Pure Alpaca Fina – Approximately 7 balls Charcoal, less than 1 ball each: Peridot, Dark Indigo, Mid Indigo, Smokey Grape, Deep Purple, Oxblood (I have a tonne left which Nat will be taking off my hands)

Dates: February 24th, 2008 – March 26th 2008.  This felt like it took forever but looking at the actual time line I guess it didn’t.

Needles: 3.5 mm 24 inch circular

Modifications: Lots!  The obvious one is I made this a pullover rather than a cardigan.  I’m in a period of hating making button bands and I’ve realized that I never wear the cardigans I’ve made unbuttoned anyway.  This was super simple to pulloverize.  The only thing I did differently was to omit the extra stitch at the front colourwork portion.  This would have been symmetrical as a cardigan but not a as pullover. 

I didn’t do a provisional cast on on the body.  I didn’t really see a need for it.  Instead I did a regular long tail cast on, knit the contrasting band and tacked it to the body as I was knitting.

I added some waist shaping but I probably should have added more.

I initially knit the neck as dictated but it was a total mess.  It rolled and was huge and stretched like crazy after blocking.  So, late last night I ripped it out.  I did two extra decrease rounds, decreasing after every eight stitches on each round, and knit the neck as Ravelry user jrs did except that I did a regular i-cord bind off and I switched to 3.25 mm needles. 

Here’s a picture under the florescent light of the kitchen for a better view:

Overall impression:  I love it!  It’s surprisingly light and airy and super soft and cozy.  The sleeves are a bit big and long but it’s no big deal. 

I will not be starting the Cabled Cardigan from Runway Knits next as originally planned.  It’s finally above zero at times around here and I just don’t want to knit a heavy cardigan damnit! 

In other good time news; Fabricland is having a member’s sale!

Michelle and I spent a small fortune but I’m pleased as punch to have a HUGE cutting mat and rotary cutter!

