There are very few circumstances under which I will wear shorts.  These are limited to biking, playing tennis and visiting my mother on very hot days (for some reason my mom takes extreme offence to me wearing pants when the temperature is above five degrees Celsius).  So, when I joined the Y in February my lazy day yoga pants became my gym wear.  But, they were old and starting to get little holes so when I read the glowing review of Kwik Sew 3115 in Craftzine I had to have it.

To be honest making pants really daunted me.  To be honest I am a moron because three pieces of a patten made of real paper and colour coded lines and six steps later I had a comfy pair of pants.

I was really worried that these would be too small because there are severe warnings all over the pattern about buying fabric with an extreme amount of two way stretch and I just couldn’t find such material.  But, to my relief they’re actually a bit big.  Just look at that crotch!  I could carry my groceries home in it.  Next time I will seriously shorten it.

I will be making many, many more of these.

With all that roominess I could afford to eat a bit of an indulgent meal.  Not in the fancy sense but in the including-no-real-nutrients sense.  This took me all of fifteen minutes from start to finish and was tasty as all get out.  It’s adapted from the wonderful New Vegetarian Epicure that I was lucky enough to score at a library book sale some months back.

Midweek Pasta

3 cups dry radiatori

1 tbsp butter

1-2 cloves garlic

5 tbsp roasted red pepper cream cheese

3/4 cup skim milk

1/4 roasted, chopped pistachios

pepper and red pepper flakes to taste


Bring medium pot of water to boil, add pasta and cook until al dente.  Meanwhile, melt butter in a medium saucepan.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant.  Add cream cheese and stir with a wooden spoon until melted.  Stir in milk.  When sauce is consistent and slightly thickened toss in drained pasta.  Sprinkle with pistachios. Season with pepper and red pepper flakes. 3-4 servings.

I’m sure it would also be delightful with another flavour of cream cheese or if you boiled some broccoli florets with the pasta in the last few minutes of cooking.

