I need you to tell me how to feel about this dress.

I kind of hate it (and I really hate that I forgot to press it before taking photos).

But I love it compared to what it looked like before I ripped it apart and sewed it all again.

Seriously. The original was painfully ugly.

It was about five sizes too big all around and about five inches too long. It looked like this:

did it with this:

I just wanted to throw it in my Goodwill pile and never think about it again. But, after a good night’s rest I decided to detach the skirt from the bodice, remove two panels, cut five inches off the top and attach it all together again. I also had to remove some of the neck band and resew it because it was bunching even more than it is now.

Now I think it’s too short and kind of costumey. But I’m not sure.

At least I have bread pudding to eat while I think about it.

Here’s the “recipe” in the Elizabeth Zimmerman sense of the word, not in the Julia Child sense.

Cube some dry bread. I used the remnants of my homemade loaf, perhaps a third of a loaf. Pour milk or soy milk or cream or a mixture of any three over the bread. Wetter is better than dry but I would say you should cover it by about three quarters. Beat an egg and throw it in there too. Add a little sugar, just a tablespoon or two. Throw in some blueberries and raspberries and the zest of a half a lemon. If you’re not serving it with ice cream, shame on you, and add vanilla. Bake it at 350 for about half an hour, until it is golden brown and bubbly. Serve it hot with good vanilla ice cream. I used Haagen Dazs Vanilla Bean.

