I’m not one of the many bemoaning the start of fall.  Since I moved away from the ocean at the age of six summer has had no meaning to me anyway.  Fall is my favourite season; a season in which it does not seem wasteful to do my favourite things, things which this blog is all about.

For example, on this cool day I’ve been making miles of bias binding for this dress.

Working on my Arctic Diamonds Stole, which the pattern tells me is over half way done, but which my eyes tell me is far from long enough.

I really, really need to stop knitting red things because photographing them is driving me up the wall

I really, really need to stop knitting red things because photographing them is driving me up the wall

And baking Apple Cake.

because the only apple worth eating raw is Granny Smith

because the only kind of apple worth eating raw is Granny Smith

I am totally, totally in love with this cake.  I adapted a Betty Crocker recipe someone gave me at work years and years ago to be a little healthier because the original had a shocking 938 calories and 40 grams of fat per serving.

Amy’s Amiable Apple Cake.

batter:

2 eggs

1 1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup apple sauce

3/4 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup orange juice

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3 cups flour

2 tbsp. baking powder


2 apples

2 tbsp. sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

Stir all batter ingredients together and set aside.  Peel apples and slice them very thin.  Toss apples with sugar and spices. Spray a bundt pan with olive oil and pour in alternate layers of batter and apples.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

I just got a silicone bundt pan and we never had one growing up so this is my first ever bundt cake!  I think it will help to make the portions smaller which is great calorie wise but I’ll have to freeze a lot of it.  I sprinkled it with powdered sugar because my oven burns everything on the outside but this is optional.  I really can’t stress enough how delicious this is an how you must make it.

