I could now probably knit the Pomotamus pattern in my sleep.

Standing outside in a t-shirt. My neighbours think I'm real normal.

Pattern: Mermaid Fingerless Gloves (beware: really more of an idea than a pattern)

Yarn: Fleece Artist Somoko from Effiloche in Montreal (fun fact: Kate Gilbert rubbed it all over her neck when I showed it to her to see if the mohair content was itchy)

Started: October 23, 2008

Finished: November 14, 2008

I used the instructions for glove fingers from The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns with great success.

I’m pretty crazy about these already.  A strange fact about me is that I hate certain things rubbing together; socks, towels and woolly fingers.  Chris is quite aware that he is not allowed to hold my hand if we’re both wearing gloves.  So, the process of yanking one glove off when you’re wearing another always made me cringe.  I don’t have that problem with these.  I know, I’m weird.

I powered through the second glove because I was super concerned about finishing my sister’s Christmas gloves in time. Because obviously it takes me a month and a half to knit a pair of bulky mittens.

The infamous snow mitten shot

The infamous snow mitten shot

Pattern: Basic Mittens from The Knitters Handy Book of Patterns (totally inspired by Ingrid’s very similar mittens) with a twisted rib cuff.  Gotta love that twisted rib.

Yarn: 100% Wool by Manos del Uruguay in Blossom from Golden Willow Fibres in Regina.

Started: November 15th 2008

Finished: November 15th, 2008

And now I need to start something else RIGHT NOW because man am I bored.  Does anyone else who’s ever lived in the middle of nowhere have any tips for not going crazy Shining style?  Yesterday I actually excitedly went outside and shovelled because I hadn’t left the house in three days. Today going to the bank is a great thrill. I’m serious here, I need all the help I can get.

When we have decorating supplies it will help, I’m sure.  Inspiration picture # 2.

Affordable, reversable rug for the living room.

Affordable, reversable rug for the living room.

