This weekend I watched a whole lotta Food Network holiday shows and did a goodly amount of cooking and baking to match.

I baked Amish White Bread (good, but too much sugar), some blueberry banana muffins for the car ride to Winnipeg tomorrow, these gingerbread:

I used the recipe from the good old Betty Crocker cookbook with a little clementine zest added in and made up my own icing recipe.  It was something like a couple tablespoons softened butter and cream cheese, a cup or so of icing sugar, a tablespoon of milk and orange juice each and some nutmeg.

Here are Chris’s:

He had a story to go along with each.  Starting at the top middle and going clockwise I believe it was; peg leg pirate, handlebar moustache man, business man with beard, the girl and poindexter with bow tie.  Bravo.

Over two years ago my aunt Susan was telling my mom and I about a girl she knew who had made her own Cherry Blossoms.  I’m not sure if they’re just a Canadian thing but they’re made by Hershey and they look like this:

My mom and I are huge, HUGE fans of them so we demanded the recipe and then neither of us made them.  Until now!

Maybe not so photgenic but soooooo good.

Maybe not so photgenic but soooooo good.

I tweaked the recipe a bit so here she is:

Cherry Blossoms

1 cup – semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 cup – chunky peanut butter

1 cup + 1/4 cup – icing sugar

1/4 cup – rice krispies*

12 maracino cherries

reserved cherry juice


Wash a styrofoam egg carton.  Melt chocolate and peanut butter in microwave (or double boiler if you’re fancy) for approx 2 minutes, mix until smooth. Add rice krispies to chocolate mixture and add in icing sugar until it becomes a play dough texture (add more as needed). Mould mixture into each individual egg cup and place a cherry in each one. Mix cherry juice with approx 1/4 cup of icing sugar until slightly thick, add a bit to each cherry. Place a chocolate layer on top. Place in freezer until set then thaw until ready to serve.

*the original recipe calls for chopped salted peanuts.  I really liked the rice krispies but substitute at will.

This would be PERFECT to make with kids as there is no cooking or hot ingredients at all and it really is like playing with play dough.  The moulding the chocolate and parcelling it out evenly is a little tricky but kind of fun!

