It’s become a bit of a tradition that I make Chris a new hat each Christmas.  Usually it is one that either does not fit or is not his style.  His fave is still the hot head hat I made him a month or two after I started knitting.  I’ve been determined to overshadow that wonky hat with it’s terrible seam.  This year I decided to modify Tiennie’s handsome Norwegian Earflap Hat into a double layer beanie, totally inspired by Knitting Elephant’s version.

Grey

Grey

When I first cast off it was very much like a bucket hat.  It was rather fetching on me but I knew it would look pretty stupid on him.  I cut the joining round and ripped back a few rows and worked them with a smaller needle.

The big flip

The big flip

I don’t know why I never thought to make him a double layer hat before.  This is the guy who wears a toque til the end of May.

Blue

Blue

He is stern when he wears the navy.

Or not

Or not

The yarn is all Cascade 220 – blue and grey are from his Christmas ’07 hat and the cream is from my Bird in Hand mitts.

With all the walking and photographing yesterday I completely forgot about this:

Apparently I wanted to impress my future self with my neat handwriting.

Apparently I wanted to impress my future self with my neat handwriting.

This, my friends, has been sitting in my underwear drawer for ten years and through six moves.  It is a letter I wrote to myself at a retreat in my last year (grade 13 when there was such a thing) of high school.  It is not as painfully earnest as I had thought.

I i really /i loved John Cusack.  And still do.

I really loved John Cusack. And still do.

I don’t ever remember wanting to be a DJ and it kills me that I called it “on air radio personality”.  I guess I wasn’t thinking in realistic terms or I wouldn’t have projected myself as an actress, married to a celebrity, living in New York.  Too funny.

