I’m reading the entire Little House set.  I’ve never seen the show or read the books before but I’m enjoying them so far.

In university I read Walden and fell in love with the idea of total self-sufficiency.  I love the stick-it-to-the-man feeling I get from darning my handknit socks or making my own bread crumbs.  This year I am really hoping to plant a natural vegetable garden and do lots of canning.  It bugs me that I don’t have a cow and can’t make my own cheese and butter.

Having said that I’m realizing more and more that I’m probably a city girl at heart.  I miss grabbing my laptop and walking across the street for a chai when Chris is working nights and I’m feeling lonely.  I miss running into friends on the street.  I miss being able to buy lemongrass and corn flour and stilton at the produce store on my block.  I miss not having to drive to the post office to get my mail.

Living on a reserve is more of a culture shock than I would have ever thought.  Mostly I feel inviscible or totally conspicuous.

I hope I will find a rhythm here sooner rather than later and that the next few years won’t be difficult or just different.

I do know that you are all a great help.

