First off – thanks to everyone for putting up with my whining the other day.  I had a bit of a bad week and I was feeling pretty down but I’m starting to perk up a bit.  I think I need to start a lame Oprah-style gratitude journal to whip my Debbie Downer self into shape.

Chris had a couple of days off sick and was a marvel of domestic production.  He cleaned, baked, cooked, hung some pictures and shelves and it helped to boost morale.  You can’t keep that boy down.

One evening I had this kind of crazy idea and Chris agreed to try it out.  Meaning he agreed to do everything while I offered a critical eye.  We had everything we needed on hand making the finished result doubly satisfying.

Swedish moody

Swedish moody

You see, I hate open concept.  I love cozy rooms with built-in book shelves and radiators and window seats and worn wood floors.  Pretty much the antithesis of this place.  Enter some metal shower hooks, roman blinds from Ikea and Christmas lights.

Sudden dining room

Sudden dining room

To my delight and surprise Dwell-reading, Eames-loving Chris is charmed by our light wall.

It’s kicky in the daylight too.

I miss Ikea

I miss Ikea

It’s starting to feel more like home.

