Ladies and gents I present to you perhaps my favourite sweater ever…………..

Pattern: Apres Surf Hoodie by Connie Chang Chinchio – Interweave Knits Summer 2008

Yarn: Rowan RYC Cashcotton 4 Ply in Jet from Ebay

Started: December 26th, 2008

Finished: February 8th, 2009

Modifications:  Knit the body in the round up to the armholes.  Added 1.5-2 inches in length to the body. Knit hood and neckband in smaller needle size (2.5 mm) because that’s what I had.

This wasn’t exactly my favourite sweater to knit.  I’m not crazy about knitting lace like I am about cables and colourwork.  It felt like it took forever, I think in part due to putting it aside to make Erin and Chris’s mittens.  All is forgiven, however, with how amazingly comfy this is to wear.  I’m tempted to knit everything out of this yarn, which is 35% cotton, 25% nylon, 18% angora, 13% rayon and 9% cashmere.  It’s not too warm, unlike most of my sweaters yet it’s still super cozy.

I made a larger size than usual because I fell in between sizes.  I kind of wish I had done a bit more waist shaping but with how cold it is here and how little I get out for exercise a little roominess in the mid section is probably best.

It’s completion is timed perfectly for a Manitoba heat wave – zero degrees! Snow is melting off the roof!  Bowie won’t come inside! I am dreaming Spring dreams!

