I haven’t been so crafty lately – mostly because I still don’t have a table for my sewing machine and the sweetheart socks effed up my wrist and forearm with it’s punishing tight gauge.  We still eat though so here’s some food!

  • Over a month ago I was at work and our tv auto tuned to Martha and Chris got sucked in.  An hour later he was jogging to the grocery store to buy ingredients for these.
    Boston Cream Cupcakes

    Boston Cream Cupcakes!

    So delicious.  I would suggest perhaps not putting the filling in unless you’re eating them right away because it tends to get sucked into the cake.

  • I have been obsessed with this easy, nutritious weeknight meal.
  • I love making my own soup stock but the recipe I had been using from The New Vegetarian Epicure had you chopping up fresh veggies which just seemed like a waste.  A tip from last month’s Martha Stewart Living suggested saving all your vegetable skins and leaves in the freezer until you need them.  Awesome!

    Stock Photo

    Stock Photo

  • I never really got biscotti.  If I wanted a dried out cookie I’d buy a bag of Chips A’hoy.  I was wrong.
    Tea Break

    Tea Break

    These are the fig and walnut biscotti from Smitten and they are amazing.  Seriously.  The mint chocolate cookie was not so impressive so it was whizzed into a tasty pie crust for chocolate tofu pie.

  • Another Smitten miracle:
    Carrot Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

    Carrot Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

    I had to substitute olive oil for the veg oil because I was out and I found the cakes themselves to be a little off but the icing is a big keeper.

  • One benefit to living on a reserve is fresh bannock at the grocery store!
    Bread + Frying = Yum

    Bread + Frying = Yum

    This is only good immediately so we were forced to eat a huge amount on the first day. Poor us.

  • Now I’ve made myself hungry and I’m off to work.  Have a great week!
