Chris works with this girl Julie. When in our first conversation she knew what Etsy was AND had a shop I knew she was worthy of my friendship.    She invited me over for jewlery making the other evening. I brought my tiny collection of seed beads and she rolled out two large shelving units packed with beautiful glass and wood and camel dung beads.  This girl is serious about beading.  She let me dive in and guided me to my first jewlery ever.

First Try

First Try

I really liked these green beads but I kind of regret them here.  It seems like I needed either more or less.

Second Attempt

Second Attempt

I prefer this one.

Now we all need to convince Julie to reopen her shop!

Despite my joint’s pleas for mercy I have been knitting.  Just before we left Japan Erin and I went to our local yarn store and I fell in love with some very soft alpaca and acrylic (!) variegated yarn.  Of course I only bought three balls so it sat around for three years.  Upon seeing Alex and Tehri’s beautiful feather and fan shawls I knew what it was destined to be.  A tea cozy!  Just kidding.  Hardy har.

Cozy

Cozy

Pattern: Feather and Fan Comfort Shawl by Sarah Bradberry

Yarn: Diakeito Diaparterre – 3 skeins

Needles: 5.1 mm (silly Japanese sizes) circ and 8.0 mm crochet hook

Warmy

Warmy

This grew a lot with blocking but also lost a bit of its cushiness.  I did the crochet across the top but I actually had to do a few rows because it looked really crappy.  I still think it’s perfectly presentable without the crochet but I ordered the Brittany hook from ebay so I was damn well going to use it.

Did I mention this is my first shawl ever?!  I need all the avid shawl wearers to tell me how and when they wear theirs please.

Edited to add: I almost forgot to mention that today is my little siter Diane’s sweet sixteen.  Happy birthday sweetie!

