I used feel the same way about quilting as I do about scrapbooking; it used to be something fun and economical and memory-keeping and now it’s a super cheesy industry that I have no interest in.  A few years ago it would never have occurred to me to go out a buy fabric to make a quilt.  So, when I decided to start one a few weeks after getting my sewing machine for Christmas in 2004, I went about it the only way I knew how, I bought a super cheap rotary cuter and teensy mat at Zellers, cut up some old blouses and skirts and pants, found a crappy tutorial through Google and went to town.

Misty watercoloured memories

Misty watercoloured memories

I was substitute teaching then too and underemployed as always.  This quilt trumped everything.  And then we moved overseas and my machine and the quilt were boxed up.  The quilt has been a guilty nagging secret since then.  As you may or may not know, I’m not an unfinished object kind of crafter.  I start doing something, I work on it for a while, I finish it.  Period.  So now, four years later, again home too often and bored I dragged old quilty out of the closet, pressed the squares I had already cut to size and dusted off the instructions.

Sorted squares - sort of

Sorted squares - sort of

I even figured out how big the quilt should be and figured out how many blocks I would need and how many little squares and supplemented what I had with a few scraps from my fabric stash.

Once again I have been sucked in.  I eat, breathe, sleep this quilt.  I don’t understand anything about binding or long arms or chain piecing and it’s riddled with mistakes large and small and some of the blocks are totally hideous but I don’t care.

Folded

Folded

I am so far gone that I am even plotting one of those new-fangled quilting-for-quilting’s-sake-quilts.  I have ordered a little My Folklore fabric and I have a large hankering for more.  I can see now how people have whole attics for their stash fabric.  With quilting there is always use for the cutesy Japanese fabric with the frolicking baby deer or the weird cotton with the naked cowboys on it.  It’s not going to be plastered across your hips so it can be as wacky or sassy as you please.

This is all I need.

