The grocery store here is closed on Sundays but yesterday I found myself running a little low on supplies but still needing to make a meal.  As I’ve mentioned before, my self-generated recipes mostly fall neatly in the dud category so I am both intrigued and repelled by the idea of not using a recipe. It would seem, however that I’m on a bit of a roll because this tart was super delicious.

Why yes that is a huge slice

Why yes that is a huge slice

It would be perfect for a holiday brunch.  I know most people don’t have smoked cheddar hanging around their fridge but I had a tiny piece left over from an easter recipe so I threw it on top.  It adds a bacon-y smell and flavour that is totally amazing.  But really if you don’t have it I’m sure this would still be great.  I used a 9 inch round cake pan because I don’t have a tart pan.  If you do have a tart pan you may need to shorten the cooking time a bit.  As always please do let me know if you try it!


Whole Wheat Crust

1 cup all purpose flour

6 tbsp whole wheat flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp sugar

1/4 cup butter

5 tbsp ice water


Combine dry ingredients.  Cut in butter to form course meal.  Mix in water until just combined.  Form a disk and wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roll dough into a circle slightly larger than your pan.  Slide onto pan, form a double crust and crimp edges.  Prick bottom, fill with pie weights (I use dried beans) and bake for 15 minutes.  Allow to cool.

Filling

2 potatoes, sliced into 1 cm. disks

salt to taste

pepper to taste

1 tbsp olive oil

1 cup feta

4 eggs

1 cup milk

1/4 tsp cayenne

dash nutmeg

1 package frozen spinach thawed and drained

1/8 cup smoked cheddar

1/8 cup sharp cheddar

Preheat over to 350 degrees.  Boil potato slices in salted water until just tender.  Drain and toss slices with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Layer on bottom of pre-baked pie crust.  Sprinkle with even layer of feta.  Beat eggs and whisk in milk, additional salt and pepper, cayenne, nutmeg and spinach.  Pour over potatoes in crust.  Bake for 30-40 minutes or until centre is firm.  Remove from oven and sprinkle with smoked and sharp cheddar.  Return to oven and cook until cheeses are melted and slightly brown. Serve with sour cream.

