On the stupid snow day we were kind of bored with (luckily) no where to go so we made our own fun and peppermint patties.  I printed this recipe off something like seven years ago and just never got around to making them.  I’m simultaneously kicking myself for neglecting it and thankful that I haven’t been gorging on these for all those years.

First you make the sticky, messy peppermint filling and cut it into rounds.

Mess central

Mess central

Then you melt some chocolate chips and dip them in.  We were knee deep in melted chocolate so there are no pictures of this step but through the magic of the internets voila!

Mmmmmmm

Mmmmmmm

They are a bit rich and sweet but that’s fine by me because it prevented me from stuffing my face with them.

Also!  Another important food update!  A while back I asked for your best pizza crust recipes.  I got very few responses so I’m guessing you either buy it premade or are on the hunt too.  Hunt no more!  This crust from Pizzaria Bianco is so amazing.  It’s also in this month’s Martha Stewart Living.  Here it is as a tart base with blue cheese, apples and walnuts.  I seem to make the best meals when I have four things left in the fridge.

See how golden?

See how golden?

I also love how it makes four crusts so you pop three in the freezer and have some super quick meals in your future.

In non-food news I’m trying to get back on the sewing train.  I’ve been a bit blocked by the (totally unfounded) feeling that I have no workable fabric and the (completely valid) terror that I will run out of notions when there is no fabric store within two hours of here that I know of.

I started out nice and slow with some easy peasy cafe curtains to block Bowie’s view of our neighbour’s dog taking a crap in our front yard and flying into a fit of excitement.

Look ma no snow!

Look ma no snow!

The fabric is Branching Out by Anna Maria Horner and when I received it I hated it. The colour is just off somehow.  Online it’s very pretty but in real life it’s got a taupiness or something that is a little weird.  Plus, it had a hole right in the middle of my piece.  Fabric.com was very good with replacing it but now I had five yards of this.  Here in smaller doses I don’t totally loathe it, though.

