Thanks for all your input on my summer blouse.  I know I’m my own toughest critic so it is really nice to gain some perspective.

I sewed all through the weekend and it was lovely.  I can’t reveal most of the things I made until about a month from now but I did steal some time to make myself some slippers yesterday evening because, unfortunately, my knit Mary Janes are already riddled with holes.

Slippies!

Slippies!

The pattern is again from Weekend Sewing.  Both the outer and lining fabrics are from Japan.  Erin sent me the so cute navy fabric and I bought the animal outline print.  I suspect both came our favourite shop in Obihiro; Rapport.

Peek-a-boo!

Peek-a-boo!

I used some lace instead of rick rack for the trim.  I really think these may be the sweetest things I’ve ever sewn

Heel

Heel

Unfortunately there are two problems.  The first is that I used the leftover felted sweater scraps from the great stocking project of aught-eight for the sole and foot bed and while the foot bed is darling the heel is a very fuzzy brown that resembles a skinned teddy bear and doesn’t quite match the sweetness of the upper.  On the plus size, that’s an easy enough problem to remedy since the sole is hand stitched on in the final step.  This is also a huge bonus if I wear through them.  The other, more dire issue, is that even though I made the largest size, a nine/ten, and I am a nine they are pretty snug.

Sweet!

Sweet!

I really, really enjoyed making these.  As they started to take a 3-D shape I totally felt like a Daniel Day-Lewis-style cobbler.  Plus they only took around two hours – way less commitment than knitting a new pair.

I’m leaving for my big trip in less than a month and while I’m still freaking about squirrelling away money for hotels, meals and spending I am really getting excited.  Especially since I was researching yarn stores in Seattle last night and discovered that Cookie A is giving a sock design class when I am there.  Robyn is calling today to try to get me in and I am praying that it’s not full like her class earlier in the day at another shop.  Wish me luck!

I am off to work so all you lucky Americans please have some shortcake and iced tea for me.

