These were a little fill-in project while I wait for more yarn for Pioneer to arrive.  Problem is they were too fun so they were done too quickly!

Pattern: Uptown Boot Socks by Jennifer Appleby – Interweave Favourite Socks

Yarn: 2 skeins Louet Gems Fingering Weight in Goldilocks

Needles: 2.75 Clover Takumi DPNs

Id like to state for the record that my feet arent as large as they appear here.

I'd like to state for the record that my feet aren't as large as they appear here.

This stitch pattern wasn’t at all what I expected.  I looked like disappointing slight pock marks until you pull it on and then it’s cable magic!  It was also easy to memorize and addictive so they took less than a week to complete!

I made the leg portion a bit shorter than the pattern stated because I was worried about running out of yarn but of course I have quite a bit left over.

Thanks for all your input so far on the gusset hole situation.  I’m definitely going to try Dave’s suggestion next time:

Lots of people twist the picked up stitches, and that does seem to work but I don’t care for the way that looks. What I do * pick up a stitch through both loops, knit that stitch right away *. Knitting it before going on to pick up the next stitch packs a bit of extra yarn into that space and fills in the hole.

