My dad’s birthday was on Friday and I made him some socks the weekend before, much to the chagrin of my poor wrists.

I’m not entirely pleased with them.  They were meant to be the exact reverse of these socks that I made for Chris but I realized much too late that the cream yarn, Scheepjes Invicta Extra, has a conservative yardage.  I ended up having to cut off one cuff and unravel in order to have enough to complete a short second sock.  My dad seems to like them, although he can’t imagine wearing them in the heatwave they’re having (I have no sympathy – it’s been 14 degrees and rainy here all friggin’ summer).

I’m finally starting to receive my Fall pattern magazines which is always so exciting!  The one I’m most intrigued with is atypical – this sleeveless dress by Sauniell N. Connally from the fall Vogue.

Photo courtesy Vogue Knitting

This photo isn’t so convincing but seeing it in the VK 360 was what did it for me.

My Interweave pick is unsurprisingly Connie Chang Chinchio’s Farmer’s Market Cardigan.  So clever!  I’m also fond of the Big Montana Tunic (although if it makes that skinny model look chunky I shudder to think how it would look on me) and the Maple Street Cardigan.  I’m so happy to see Interweave getting back on track.

Twist is amazing yet again and I’m particularly loving Luminen (without the snowflakes on the back).

I also need to get my hands on Made in Brooklyn and Berroco’s Blackstone Tweed booklet.

So many patterns so little time!

In other news, I’ve swapped my standard brownie recipe for Emily’s and I’m never looking back.

