It occurred to me recently that I am going to have a baby real soon.  You would think this would have been a dead giveaway:

30 weeks. Same dress as 16 weeks for easy comparison.

So far things have been pretty breezy.  My blood pressure is excellent, my growth is right on track, I have no heart burn, hemorrhoids, nosebleeds, itching, contractions, infections, mood swings, varicose veins, swelling, stretch marks or weird dreams so it’s easy to forget that there is much work to be done.

It dawned on me that for quite a while I had been thinking of things we needed and immediately crossed it off my shopping list thinking “I can just make that.”  When I actually sat down to compile a little list of all these necessities I was just going to whip together I had to laugh at my ambition. And then I had to get to work.

First up: baby wipes and washcloths.

I am going on maternity leave in two (baby jesus willing) short weeks and that means my access to a serger was limited.  All I needed to do was teach myself how to use one and voila! Baby cloths. The wipes are just two squares of flannel serged together.

And the wash cloths are a piece of flannel and a square of hemp terry cloth from this Etsy shop sandwiched.

The flannel and terry didn’t work quite so co-operatively as the layers of flannel alone, as evidenced by the slightly ragged edges but where these are going they don’t need to be perfect. The flannel is the too pretty Valori Wells Flower Stripe Vine.  I got twenty-nine cloths of various sizes out of a yard of each colour. Not too shabby!

I know these wouldn’t have been pricey to pick up but these took no time at all and they’re way cuter than some print with anthropomorphic giraffes floating all over them. The only downside is now I want to serge everything in sight.

