I’ve been hoarding food like there’s a natural disaster on the horizon.  In this case the looming chaos is bringing home baby and I want to be prepared. I think the only cure for living on three hours sleep while caring for a screaming baby and hosting visitors is the possibility of having baked goods on hand.

In an attempt to not use up organic eggs like they’re going out of style I bought Veganomicon and Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar and the first recipe I tried from the latter, these Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, were successful.

They have a different texture than your standard Oatmeal Raisin cookies, wetter and chewier, which I enjoy.

Right now I’ve got some Strawberry Banana Muffins baking and they smell great.  I’m planning on making lots of muffins because they make a great breakfast, snack or dessert.  If you’ve got some tried and true favourites, vegan or not, lay ’em on me.

Before I started mixing and freezing I did something I’ve dreamed about for months. In perhaps a sad example of how pathetic my life has become it wasn’t a trip to Maui or a spa day but a session of kitchen cupboard cleaning and organizing.  I picked up a pack of Ball jars and a dozen mason jars in the city and I finally got rid of all those unmarked bags of bulk goods that all seem to look like cream of tartar.

So deeply satisfying and yet so economical!

I also have to give a shout out to our new favourite meal.

Wilted Kale and Roasted Winter Potato Salad may not look or sound like much but Chris literally cheered when I made it again this week. It tastes just as good reheated or eaten cold.

