Despite the almost complete lack of sun we’ve endured this Spring, I decided Kate needed a sun hat. Most of the bonnets we spotted in stores we’re much too large so once again I turned to the Simplicity 4243 that Robyn provided and some cute shiny dot fabric that she also sent along.

It’s a little tricky to photograph on her since she can’t hold her head up yet (try as she might) but it’s not nearly as floppy as the pillow pushing it out makes it appear.

Kate does not appreaciate the Blossomesque popped brim look, and rightly so

I was a little worried that a white fabric would let the sunlight through but the top is lined so that adds a little extra protection.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************

I’m feeling a huge wardrobe overhaul kick right now that will hopefully result in some actual non-baby output. Hooray!  I started Amelia for myself in the exact yarn as the pattern which made me fall in love with it in the first place, but put it aside for a little, hopefully quick, gift knitting.  I’m also hoping to bust out some new blouses, shirts and dresses once I get my new Bernina sewing machine for my birthday next month (hint, hint!).  A bigger obstacle than my little Kenmore and my mediocre sewing skills is the difficulty of finding great apparel fabric in stores or online.  I’m especially frustrated by the total lack of non-poly jersey up for grabs. If anyone has any leads please do share.

In the meantime I’ve picked up a few things in store, including this chambray tunic which is surprisingly awesome for a store I’ve boycotted for the last decade (sucky employment experience related), this cardigan in Hawaiian red and woodpecker, a couple of jersey dresses from Joe that I live in on rare warm days, and I ordered this blouse which I can’t wait to be disappointed by in the flesh!  Well fitting bottoms obviously elude me.  It seems to me that once summer hits all you can find are baggy cargo capris aplenty.  Can I get an amen?

