I picked up a Cuisinart ice cream maker on sale at Home Outfitters ages ago and attempted a few mid-winter batches with dismal results. It was gathering dust at the back of the cupboard until the arrivals of warm weather, our dear friends Erin and Braden, and David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop coincided.  I can’t wait to try almost all of the recipes, even Goat Cheese Ice Cream despite Chris thinking it sounds gross.  First, Erin and I whipped up some Vanilla Frozen Yogurt.

I swapped vanilla bean for extract since I had some hanging around. It was refreshing but a bit tangy for my taste. If I were to make it again I would perhaps add more sugar.

The real winner was the Cheesecake Ice Cream. I’m not even a big cheesecake fan but it was so delicious and so simple to make. We polished it off before I snapped a photo. It was that good.

Next I might even venture into tempered egg and custard territory.  Excitement!  Now I require some cute ice cream dishes.

