So, I totally lied about posting yesterday.   It seems that as soon as I declare success in the nap department Kate decides it’s time to shake things up a bit and not sleep ever.

Here are a few of the smaller things we’ve tried out so far:

Blue Celery Sling / Wrap Hybrid – 2 stars

I really liked the idea of the versatility of this sling. I thought being able to use one loop as a sling and not having yards of fabric to wrap every which way around you would be handy. Unfortunately, Kate is not a big fan of this whole system.  I think it hugs her a little too close to the body, which may suggest that the sling is too small but at the same time I feel like it sags and I have to hold her up in it which defeats the purpose of the whole thing.  She also really likes to look out when you’re carrying her but she’s not old enough for wearing in an outfacing position.  Mostly, this sling was a bust for me because of the cost.  All it is is some strips of jersey serged together. The long edges aren’t even finished which results in a lot of rolled in fabric riding up your back.  Chris wasn’t a big fan of it from the get-go and bought himself this Phil and Ted’s carrier which has a lot more going on at a much cheaper price.

Bummies Organic Prefolds + Bummies Super Bright Diaper Covers + Snappi Diaper Fasteners – 5 stars

We have nothing but good things to say about cloth diapering with this system.  It is so not a big deal to wash your diapers every few days, which is especially easy for me to say since Chris always washes them.  The Snappi isn’t necessary but they’re just a few bucks and they really make it easy to get the prefolds into the cover. Considering how many diapers Kate goes through I can’t even imagine what we’d be spending on disposables, especially given the highway robbery that is the prices at our rural grocery store. When Kate was in the hospital they used perfumed Pampers you could smell ten feet away. This is what they put on all the babies, not matter what their medical condition.  I could not believe it.

Aubrey Organics Natural Baby & Kids Shampoo (purchased at Superstore) – 5 stars

We didn’t plan on using any bath products initially but Kate’s full head of hair gets pretty greasy looking after a few days so I picked this at random off the grocery store shelf. I LOVE this stuff.  It smells like everything a baby should without any artificial perfumes (or parabens or sulfates).  You also only need a little drop so I think it will last a good long while.

Safety 1st High Definition Baby Monitor – 4.5 stars

I registered for this without really knowing what to look for in a monitor but this has great sound quality and it’s really small so your whole house looks a little less like Tom Hank’s apartment in Big. I will say this; when I was pregnant I openly mocked the fancy monitors that have sensors to see if the baby is still breathing or video screens, however, after Kate’s rough start I found myself constantly checking on her and then worrying about the creaking door waking her up.  So, if you’re expecting, you might want to wait until after you have the baby to see what your individual level of paranoia is.

A note on all the stuff I made for Kate when I was pregnant: all of the nursery stuff has done what it’s supposed to and I have no complaints there.  By far the most useful thing I made is the nursing pillow.  I obviously use it for nuring but it also comes in handy for propping Kate up on your lap for optimum eye contact or for sitting her in on the couch for photo ops.  The item we’ve used the least is the snuggler.  It seemed a bit too big when we first brought her home which is totally useless for swaddling and now that it’s beyond warm here the microfleece seems like it would melt her on contact.

If there are any other baby-related goods you’d like to know about or if you’d like shower gifts don’t be shy to ask.

