This has been a doozy of a week.  Kate, it seems, is a teething prodigy at three months and has been miserable.  Chris went back to work Sunday night and Kate decided not to sleep anymore in acknowledgment of his absence.  It may seem crazy but I’ve been trying to keep up with the making of things despite the strong urge to crawl up in bed and sleep whenever I get a minute. I strongly believe the former is the actual path to a modicum of sanity.  I am rewarded by two obscenely good discoveries.

This is the love of my life. Baking wise, at least.  It’s the buttermilk bread from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day and it is the best bread I have ever eaten in my entire life.  The crust tastes like a croissant and the middle is chewy and dense.  This confirms my strong belief that buttermilk makes everything better.

I also finally used the popsicle molds that Chris bought months ago with my own interpretation of these blackberry pops.

Raspberry Yogurt Pops

Makes 7 pops


1/2 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

3 cups fresh or frozen raspberries, thawed (I used frozen)

400 ml (two small containers)  or 1 3/4 cups vanilla yogurt

1 1/2 tablespoons maple syrup

juice of half a lime


Make the simple syrup by combining the water and sugar in a small pot and bringing to a boil to dissolve the sugar.  Cool to room temperature.

Puree the berries in a food processor or blender.  Press into a medium bowl through a fine mesh sieve until all the juice is extracted. Discard seeds. Stir in remaining ingredients, including simple syrup and pour into seven popsicle molds.  Freeze at least six hours and run under tepid water to loosen popsicles.

