Today is my mom’s birthday!  I few months ago I was at Fabricland, because I like to torture myself every once in a while, when I spotted some Cape Breton tartan and knew that I had to buy it to make something for my mom who is all out obsessed with our home island. She has Cape Breton table cloths, napkins, wall hangings, photos and other island-themed paraphernalia all over her house. I initially wanted to make her something to wear to work so she could take her pride with her but I couldn’t think of anything that wouldn’t be super Nardwuar-esque.  I finally decided on a simple quilt.

For the silhouette applique, I found an outline of Cape Breton online then used this site to enlarge it to print onto four pages. Then I used Steam-a-Seam 2 to adhere it to the backing and I zigzagged around the edges.

I was in a rush to get this to the post office (almost a month ago – I don’t deal well with procrastination) so I failed to get any photos of the back but it’s just more tartan so I’m sure you can imagine it.  Lining up the front and the back so that the quilting lines would be straight was tough and I failed pretty miserably but at least everyone will know it’s handmade and not from a souvenir shop.

I think she likes it but I’m also pretty sure she enjoyed her early morning Skype chat with Kate more.

*For all those wondering how the sleep training is going; I don’t want to talk about it.  These are dark days my friends. Quite literally because it is da-hark at 5 a.m. which is apparently a perfectly reasonable time to wake up according to local infants surveyed.  If I had a souped up Delorean I’d totally go back to three weeks ago when getting up at 8:30 was all the rage.

