After a pretty massive food slump I’ve been spending lots of time in the kitchen thanks to a third member of the household requesting a variety of specially prepared dishes.  So far soft tofu and sweet potatoes are acceptable but lentils are gag worthy and therefore get sneakily enfolded in sweet potatoes.  I figured I might as well feed us while I’m in there and have had some surprising successes.

I feel like I’ve been searching for a truly great macaroni and cheese recipe for years.  I’ve tried ones with four ingredients, ones with fancy cheeses and crumb toppings, stovetop ones, ones with synthetic cheez but I they were all bland and didn’t reheat well at all.  I’ve finally found the holy grail of mac and cheese, though it doesn’t actually use macaroni.

Here’s the recipe.  I just use old cheddar and it’s been great every time.  Just looking at this photo makes me sad that it’s all gone.

I also bought a slow cooker despite having some of the worst meals I’ve ever had courtesy of our old one.  I broke it in with some lasagna and though I had low expectations I really enjoyed it.  I combined a couple of recipes but basically I added some garlic and herbs to a can of crushed tomatoes, then mixed a container of ricotta with some baby spinach, mozzarella and parmesan and Chris layered it all with uncooked lasagna noodles and left it for three and a half hours.  It was creamy and delicious.

Also: I’m not a big apple person but Honeycrisps really are as delicious as everyone says they are.  I believe I even chose one as a mid-morning (which is often eight a.m. lately) snack over Halloween candy the other day.

