Happy 2011 everyone! It’s crazy to think that a year ago I was sitting in this same spot but without the teething, clingy, hilarious little almost-eight-month-old trying to scale my leg so she can jam the keys on the laptop. It’s even crazier to think that a year from now she’ll be walking around, eating pizza and throwing things in the toilet.

While she’s still only capable of getting into mildly terrifying trouble  I was able to knit a whole sweater for Chris for the first time in almost five years.

This was the Christmas gift I had the most panic attacks about finishing.  Chris took a chunk of time off in December which was nice for family time but not so nice for knitting deadlines.

We’re both so pleased with it.  Chris liked my dad’s Seamless Hybrid but I prefer the shirt yoke version so I thought I’d give it a try.  Elizabeth’s “pithy” instructions almost had me pulling my hair out at the shoulder join point but I took a deep breath and did what seemed to make sense and it all worked out.

I originally wanted a tweedy yarn but the yarn shop I went to had none so I went with good ol’ Cascade 220.

I think the saddle shoulders really compliment Chris’s body type (I believe the scientific term is “robust string bean”) and it doesn’t seem so warm that he’ll never wear it.

And if you’ll excuse me Kate is scaling the tv cabinet so that she can pull out the wires on the flat screen.

