We had a pretty miserable experience on Boxing Day when, intending to go downtown and eat at a great Mexican restaurant we couldn’t find parking and ended up instead at a suburban mall (we had with us two teenage girls with Christmas money burning holes in their pockets).  Kate’s Sugar Bear was in her lap and it seems that at some point she chucked it out.  That may be the end of me making hats for Kate in luxury yarns or the beginning of me sewing tags with my e-mail address into everything I make.  It did give me a good push to make the hat I had been planning for her already.

Kate got an early Christmas present of a little red sled but her other hats and hoods kept falling in front of her eyes necessitating us  stopping every few steps to fix them. I also was worried about her neck and face getting cold.  When I saw Deb’s photo of her baby’s favourite hat and Austen’s hat here I knew a baby balaclava was what we needed.

The yarn is even more Cascade 220 and pattern is Paton’s Pussy Cat from my vintage pattern stash.  The smallest size is a two so I tried making it with smaller needles and ended up with one that was way too small.

At least I got this photo out of it.

Kate doesn’t seem to mind wearing it at all and now we can go sledding in style.

And now that all the Christmas and emergency noggin knitting is out of the way and I can get back to knitting for myself. Yipee!

