My Citronille patterns came lickety split. When you pay a pretty penny for shipping that’s a nice touch.  They each came in an eight by eleven glassine envelope and the pieces were hand drawn on paper rather than tissue.

Kate’s dresser was pretty well stocked for her first year what with gifts and my splurges at Baby Gap while pregnant.  I was excited to start from scratch with her summer clothes and not feel like I had to use clothing that I really didn’t like but didn’t want to waste.  So excited was I that I headed out the morning after a blizzard to do some fabric shopping.  I literally almost died for my craft.

I started with Rose and my least favourite purchase from Mitchell, a poly-cotton blend calico (I think, I’m still a little fuzzy when it comes to fabric terms) from the bargain basement.

My CORE French and Google Translate did me fairly well with translating the pattern, but it really helped having some experience with putting a yoked garment together.  I made a few mistakes but the major one (not stitching the yoke to the yoke facing due to misunderstanding the instructions) was fixable and the minor ones (some weirdness with the yoke, possibly not attaching the sleeve with the mid point matching the shoulder seam) are hopefully not noticeable.

I didn’t realize until I was pretty much finished that the back is left open so it’s like a pinafore, which I think will be adorable when it fits her. I considered shortening the sleeves but decided against it so that she’ll have a little sun protection in the summer and a little warmth in the fall.

My machine seems to make huge buttonholes. I'm not sure if there's anyway around it.

I’m most proud of the seams and facings that I hand blind stitched.  It took a long time but I could plonk myself on the couch and do it with my feet up and I was happy to be doing something the right way for a change.

We also have bonus wardrobe items with dresses turned into shirts!

Remember when I could get it over her giant head without forcible tugging?

Awwww….

Tuesday I got a very heavy parcel load at the post office so I’ve now got my hands on Real Fit for Real People and some general sewing books courtesy of Melina! I’m a bit overwhelmed by all the reading that awaits but that and watching Teen Mom 2 are what nap times are for.

