I’ve been working away, here and there, on my dress bodice. I decided to go ahead with the sheet fabric. You can see the print a little better here.

Bodice - Kwik Sew 3682

The innards are looking a lot slicker than those on my earlier clothing attempts. I hopefully settled the fitting issues I was having with the muslin by taking it apart and cutting out a smaller size since it was about an inch too big all around.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough fabric left from this sheet to do anything about lowering the waist inset but I’m hoping a more supportive bra will do the trick.  I think when Kate’s done nursing I’m going to go to a fancy bra shop and get an expert fitting. If it’s not working I can always consider this a muslin 2.0 and go get some actual made for clothing fabric and try again if I’m not too demoralized.

A few things that are really floating my boat:

  • We’ve had some really tasty breakfasts lately. On the guilt-ridden side are these amazing cinnamon sour cream pancakes. Mmmm.  But for a healthy start I’m in love with the texture of this baked oatmeal.
  • My new favourite blog is Dinner: A Love Story. The last post with their seven-year-olds Roald Dahl round up was hilarious and had be getting excited to someday read The BFG to Kate (although if she doesn’t love it as much as I did as a kid I would be pretty bummed out).
  • Speaking of Kate and books, we read to her every night and more often if we can and I was surprised to discover that she had definite favourites right from the get-go. I’ve been considering doing a post of her favourite baby literature if anyone is interested.
